Danielle | Beauty | Film

4 Comments

It’s finally here.

This girl…

This girl right here is very special to me. She’s proof that God can reconcile anyone in the most hopeless of situations.  She gives and receives forgiveness in ways that teach me a better way to live out the faith that we share. She welcomed me into her family and her life seven years ago when my husband and I first started dating.  We became fast friends. Then, five years ago, we became sisters.  Her now-husband asked her out on their first date at our wedding after both were attendants- her, my Maid of Honor, him, a groomsman (I love that!). And then, in an instant, with one misunderstanding… it was over.

For three long years, we didn’t speak.  It was hands down the most difficult heartbreak I had ever experienced.  And I know she would say the same.  And I know my husband–her brother–would say the same.  It seemed the things we had all lost would be gone forever.

But our God is a God of miracles.  He softens hardened hearts.  He lifts anger and heals our spirits. He reveals things to us in His perfect timing.  He blesses us with the ability to forgive and, thankfully, in our situation, the ability to pick up where we left off as if nothing ever happened at all–and not fake it.  To know that what happened- what was once the biggest burden each of us carried- simply didn’t matter anymore.  Supporting one another, confiding the things that weigh on our minds, laughing and joking and exploring and enjoying being a family once more.

That is how we spent this beautiful fall day in Prescott.  It was a redemptive time, and although it had been a year since we reconnected, it was such a meaningful shoot to me.  My first beauty session on film, and it is so fitting that it was hers.  I love this sweet woman with all my heart.  She is so much fun to be with–she’s funny, talented, creative, caring, generous, thoughtful, and such a good, sweet, genuine person.  This is my beautiful sister-in-law, Danielle.  My family and my dear, dear friend.

Love you, D.

Take it from us. If there is a relationship you think may be lost… don’t give up. Take heart.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”

-Colossians 3:12-14

4 thoughts on “Danielle | Beauty | Film

  1. I love these photographs! It means so much to me to see these amazing photos of my beautiful daughter taken by my extraordinary daughter-in-law. Thanks for all that you do!

  2. Well said, Andrea! Our restored friendship is total proof of God’s healing power and His love for us. I love you dearly and I am so thankful for our friendship!!

    These photographs are stunning! (I feel weird saying that, but they are!) You captured what I envisioned to a “T.” You have a wonderful way with film 🙂

Talk to me

