Flagstaff Part One | June 2012 | Film

Leave a comment

I will be the first to admit that I am not a fan of my husband’s job in many ways. MANY ways. I am, however, thankful that he has a job and has been a faithful worker for the past several years since we began our life together- through the birth of both of our girls, we were blessed with amazing health insurance coverage and paid a grand total of $0 to have them. And one of the best perks, hands down, is that he has gotten six weeks of parental leave with each of our children.

With our first, I was a bit of a wreck- I didn’t realize it at the time, but looking back I had a much harder time with Linnea than I did with Caelynn. But I think that was mostly from being totally overwhelmed as a brand-new mom. And I DO NOT do well with sleep deprivation. Anyone who has known me long enough will confirm that, probably with stories of how I put milk away in the pantry instead of the fridge, or fell asleep in lectures and did that awkward head-jerk when I startled awake, or was so unbelievably cranky that they probably would have been fine never speaking to me again. Ha! Thankfully my friends and family love me anyway.

Before Cody went back to work this summer, we took a quick day trip to our default destination, Flagstaff. In case you didn’t read before, I went to college there and made some of the best memories of my life while finishing my degree. I made some amazing friends and I just loved living in a mountain town. While the place has changed quite a bit, there are still some things that have remained the same, like Beaver Street Brewery, or Dara Thai, or Babbits, or Macy’s European Coffeehouse. I wish I had liked coffee back then, because I’m pretty sure I would have lived at Macy’s.

I have changed quite a bit too- in fact, I am a totally different person now than I was at 22. But every time I go there, I’m hit upside the head with a sense of nostalgia- not exactly a longing to go back, but perhaps reminiscing the freedom I felt while living there. Now, I love going there with the family I’ve built in the years since and sharing some of my favorite things with them. This particular day was a simple day where we relished in the ability to actually play at the park in the sunshine without the familiar sensation of MELTING AWAY like we do in Phoenix. We pretty much don’t leave our house in the long summer months.

My poor kids. Thank you LORD for the cooling temperatures as fall meanders its way into the Valley. No, really, Fall, take your time. WE CAN WAIT. We always do.

Photos taken on the Mamiya 645 and Canon EOS 3 using Portra 400.

Talk to me

