Today | 9.8.12

Leave a comment

It’s a rainy weekend. My husband is taking a few vacation days this week and we may take a little day trip on Tuesday. I love being home with him and our girls.

There’s nothing special about today, except that I’m feeling inspired to be more purposeful in capturing the day-to-day moments with my family.

Linnea asked me to draw a Mommy Mermaid, a Caelynn Mermaid, and a Linnea Joelle Mermaid, along with Sebastian and Flounder, of course. I love how she takes me back to all my favorite things to do as a child- down to my favorite movie of all time. The part where Ariel hugs her dad at her wedding and whispers, “I love you, Daddy,” still makes me cry. Ha! I’ve always been a daddy’s girl, and now I have one too, which makes it that much sweeter.

Sometimes it’s just as beautiful to capture life exactly how it is than to attempt to make it look perfect when you think everyone is watching.

With the bulk of the home purging, donating and cleaning behind me, I feel like I can breathe and focus on the joys of life now. I had no idea how much my things weighed me down. More on that, including a few before and afters, later.

Talk to me

